top of page

Hoffmann Adds Player of the Year

The achievements keep coming for the HUHS girls volleyball senior Abby Hoffmann who won the Washington County Player of the Year award adding to her player of the year for the North Shore Conference awarded this past December.

After winning conference for the first time in school history, Abby Hoffmann continued an exceptional season by adding North Shore Conference Player of the Year and Washington County Player of the Year to the list. Hoffmann and three of her teammates were also given All Conference honors.

Since being awarded Washington County Player of the Year, Hoffmann said, “I have worked hard in my volleyball career for many years and receiving this award reflects, to me, all the work I have put into volleyball.”

The hard work mentality is stressed throughout the volleyball program and one of the key elements in Hoffmann’s success.

“Abby was constantly setting the example during practices and matches. I believe this is what helped herself and her teammates be successful this year,” varsity volleyball head coach Shannon Klink said. Klink also highlighted the team chemistry as a motivation for the players.

Hoffmann’s individual success was pushed by the surrounding 16 talented girls on the team. “All this talent pushed me, and others to be better. My teammates and I worked hard every practice, and it showed during our games this season,” Hoffmann said.

“It’s great to see Abby recognized for this because she had to step up and not only be a strong leader but play a position on the court that she was not used to,” senior teammate Martina McGrath said.

The uniqueness to this season forced the team to rise to the occasion and each of the players bought into the process. “I think that having our players recognized this year means a lot about the versatility and resilience of our team,” McGrath said.

The volleyball program used the motto of “FAMILY” as a way to unite everyone and to push each of the athletes to never give up. Hoffmann embraced this concept which helped her succeed individually and with her team.

Hoffmann will be continuing her volleyball career at Edgewood College next fall. “My coaches had a big part in helping me achieve this. They have been there for me all four years of my high school career and they have pushed me to be better. Their support was very big for me,” Hoffmann said.

“Watching Abby develop into the player she is over the last three years has been exciting,” Klink said. Both Klink and McGrath expressed that a specific match against Nicolet were their favorite memories of watching and playing with Abby.

“She took control on the court and helped lead our team to victory,” McGrath said. Hoffmann’s ability as a leader and as a top performer made her the best choice for Washington County Player of the Year.

Who's Behind The Paper?
HUHS Links
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page