top of page

Seniors Accomplish Personal Goals during Final Season

Even with the adaptations made to their gymnastics season including limited audience sizes and sanitization between events, two members of the gymnastics team were able to accomplish some of their goals, like improving routines or coming into meets with a better attitude, they had for their final season of gymnastics at HUHS.

Seniors Grace McCune and Emily Perkowski each had a different set of goals that they set out to accomplish during this year’s season of gymnastics.

McCune focused on building up her skills that she had worked on during last year’s season, to improve her routines and “perform better.”

“This year I worked out before the season to get myself in shape so the season would be easier and I have learned to not overdo it [before a meet],” McCune said. “I worked hard on my vault and on my floor [routine]. [My] new vault [routine] was cleaner than last year and more consistent.”

While McCune’s goals were routine specific for meets, Perkowski wanted to end senior year strong.

“My goals for this season have been to be more self motivated, add some more skills into my routines, and finish out my senior year strong,” Perkowski said. “I’ve been coming into practice with a better attitude to work harder to get the skills I want to put into some of my routines.”

On the gymnastic team’s most recent meet against Nicolet on Jan. 27, Perkowski took first place in the all-around, showing that her work she put into improving her skills has paid off. The team won the meet overall, scoring a 141.63 for varsity and 122.75 for the JV team. The varsity team has remained undefeated this season.

Assistant coach Bobbi Scherr is proud of the gymnastics team and how well the team has been doing this season. In her eyes, Perkowski has been standing out from the team.

“We have a very strong team again this season. In particular Emily Perkowski has been doing a great job,” Scherr said. “She came out this season with a very positive attitude and has been working really hard on her skills.”

With the end of the season near, it is bittersweet for McCune who has been participating in gymnastics at the team level since the fifth grade.

“It makes me sad thinking about how this is my final year on the team since I’ve known the coaches since fifth grade and I’ve created amazing bonds with the girls on the team,” McCune said. “Being one of the three seniors on the team makes me proud of seeing how the team works together and [how] they are all so eager to learn new skills.”


Who's Behind The Paper?
HUHS Links
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page